Coordinated Community Response

A Coordinated Community Response (CCR) team joins multidisciplinary community partners to provide interagency, coordinated responses to domestic violence. Collaboration meets the needs of victims/survivors and more effectively holds offenders accountable. CCRs can achieve their goals through an emphasis on one or more of the following:A Coordinated Community Response (CCR) team joins multidisciplinary community partners to provide interagency, coordinated responses to domestic violence. Collaboration meets the needs of victims/survivors and more effectively holds offenders accountable. CCRs can achieve their goals through an emphasis on one or more of the following:

  • the criminal justice system
  • victim services
  • prevention
  • long-term help for survivors 

CCR teams implement a variety of strategies to help survivors comphensively. This may include items such as:

  • internal information-sharing and training
  • community awareness and prevention campaigns
  • development of CCR response protocols
  • case reviews

Responders and service providers need to respond to domestic violence as one coherent process. It's important to take collective responsibility for a victim's experience and offender's behavior in every stage of the process. Responders and service providers need to respond to domestic violence as one coherent process. It's important to take collective responsibility for a victim's experience and offender's behavior in every stage of the process. 

The establishment of CCR teams and response protocols can ensure that victims receive consistent and comprehensive services and referrals. It also helps offenders be held accountable regardless of agencies involved.

The implementation of CCRs is a proven strategy that can have significant impact in the collective approach to addressing domestic violence. Under Enhancing Rural Strategies, a grant from the Office on Violence Against Women (OVW), we are working with 13 rural domestic violence agencies (serving 15 NC counties) by providing extensive technical assistance and training. North Carolina communities that are interested in increasing their collaboration across disciplines to more effectively respond to domestic violence should contact NCCADV for information.

NCCADV and NCCASA work with local agencies to develop Coordinated Community Response (CCR) and/or Sexual Assault Response Team (SART) teams. Made up of community partners and service providers, these teams address domestic and/or sexual violence by providing interagency, coordinated responses that meet the needs of victims and more effectively hold offenders accountable.

The coalitions have created two toolkits to guide North Carolina communities that are interested in increasing their collaboration across disciplines to more effectively respond to domestic violence and/or sexual assault. Based on the principles of shared leadership and a strength-based approach, the toolkits provide specific strategies for recruitment, cross training, goal setting, and protocol development, while recognizing that no two teams are alike. Individual community needs and goals must be reflected in the team development process. 

  1. Enhancing Local Collaboration in the Criminal Justice Response to Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault: A CCR/SART Development Toolkit” outlines in detail the process of implementing a team and developing protocols. 
  2. Best Practices in the Criminal Justice Response to Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault: Guidance for CCR/SART Response Protocols” is intended as an accompanying resource to the larger CCR/SART Development Toolkit. It serves as a guide for teams to use as they review best practices during the protocol development process.

If you have any questions about developing or coordinating a CCR team or you would like to be added to our statewide CCR listserv, please contact our Member Services Coordinator, Lisi Martinez Lotz, at  llotz@nccadv.org or 919-956-9124 ext. 206. 

CCR Teams in NC

Below is a list of Coordinated Community Response teams in NC, also known as DV Taskforces. Some teams are dual, meaning that they focus on both domestic violence and sexual assault. These teams are known as CCR/SART teams although they may also operate under other names.

 

County Focus Meetings Held Contact
Alamance Domestic Violence Monthly Cindy Brady - Cindy.Brady@alamance-nc.com
Avery Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Monthly Tiffany Moon - avery@oasisinc.org
Bladen Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Every other month Vickie Pait - ffirst1995@embarqmail.com
Buncombe Domestic Violence Monthly Julie D. Klipp Nicholson - Julie.Klipp.Nicholson@buncombecounty.org
Caldwell Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Monthly Sharon Poarch - director@shelterhomecc.org
Carteret Domestic Violence Quarterly Glenda Riggs - ccdvp@bizec.rr.com
Caswell Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Monthly Francina Jones - fjones@caswellcountync.gov
Chatham Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Quarterly as full group; subcommittees meet monthly Mary Ann Spence - info@fvrc.org
Clay Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Quarterly as full group; sexual assault meets monthly April Chastain -  april@reachofclaycounty.org
Cleveland Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Monthly Jerry Reed - jreed@apcouncil.com
Columbus Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Every other month

Vickie Pait - ffirst1995@embarqmail.com

Dare Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Monthly Michael Lewis - mlewis@obhotline.org
Durham Domestic Violence Every other month Nana Asante - nasante@durhamcrisisresponse.org
Forsyth Domestic Violence Every other month Kenyetta Richmond - krichmond@fsifamily.org krichmond@familyservicesforsyth.org;
Franklin Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Every 3 months Monica Kearney - mkearney@ncsafespace.org
Granville Domestic Violence Monthly Pam Hester - pam.hester@yahoo.com
Haywood Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Monthly Buffy Queen - bqreach@aol.com
Henderson Domestic Violence Monthly Meredith Hooks - Meredith@mainstayhelp.org
Hyde Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Every other month Cynthia Gibbs - cghydehotline@gmail.com
Iredell Domestic Violence Monthly Patti Wiley - pwiley@fifthstreetministries.com
Lee Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Quarterly Joanne Carville -  shelteradvocate1@haveninleecounty.org
Macon Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Monthly Jennifer Turner - jtlives4jc@hotmail.com
Martin Domestic Violence Monthly Sandy Rhodes - srhodes@c4fvp.org
Mecklenburg Domestic Violence Monthly Kathryn Sellers - kathryn.sellers@safealliance.org
Marie White - Marie.White@MecklenburgCountyNC.gov
Mitchell Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Monthly

Beth Davis - bdavis60@gmail.com

Anita Autrey - anita.autrey@gmail.com

Moore Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Monthly Kim Disney - kim@friendtofriend.me
New Hanover Domestic Violence Monthly Jennie Thomason - courtadv@domesticviolence-wilm.org
Orange Domestic Violence Monthly Kati Haijar - dvcourt@compassctr.org
Randolph Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Monthly Nancy Butler - nancy.m.butler@nccourts.org
Richmond Domestic Violence Every other month Karen Bostic - womenfolkunlimited@yahoo.com
Robeson Domestic Violence Quarterly Norma McLellan - nmclellan@ncrrbiz.com
Rutherford Domestic Violence Twice a year Kelly Hudson - pathshelter@bellsouth.net
Transylvania 

Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault

quarterly Susan Huter Susan@safetransylvania.org
Tyrell Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Monthly Nola Ransom - nolaransom@gmail.com
Wake Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Monthly Leigh L. Stallings - leigh.l.stallings@nccourts.org
Warren Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Quarterly Johnette Smith - jsmith@infinitepossibilitiesinc.com
Watauga Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Monthly

Liz Mason - community@oasisinc.org

Wilson Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Monthly Donna Pridgen - dpridgen@wesleyshelter.org
Yancey Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault Monthly

Anita Autrey - anita.autrey@gmail.com

Beth Davis - bdavis60@gmail.com